Popular Hot Rodding
1 |  2 |  Next   | Last 
Item Posts    Sort Order

New To SBC building

CutlassBoi2585 CutlassBoi2585
New User | Posts: 6 | Joined: 09/11
Posted: 09/24/11
05:06 PM

Hey whats up PHRF. I'm just starting to get into sbc's I bought a 86 Olds Cutlass Salon summer of '10. It was my daily drive until one day it stopped working. I have found out why it stopped. Last week i purchased a 350 sbc motor and th350 tranny to go with the motor. The tranny was already rebuilt, so no work needs to be done there. I'm trying to get about 400hp from this motor, so i'm purcahsing a .060 over rebuild kit. My question is will the stock heads work with this setup and how big of a cam do I need to acheive this goal? Like I said I'm new to this so any advice would be very helpful. Also will i need to get a posi rear for this or will the stock cutlass rear be able to handle that motor.  

gtomustang gtomustang
Enthusiast | Posts: 457 | Joined: 06/09
Posted: 09/25/11
12:22 PM

The simplest solution, is to get a complete head/cam/intake setup, say from Edelbrock.  That max overbore will increase compression ratio slightly, maybe from the 9.8:1 I think they expect to say 10:1, so you may want to go with the larger chamber head if you want to run low octane gas all day long without retarding the spark timing to do so.  Of course, aluminum heads help deny detonation, but as the rings wear in--and thinner cylinder walls may flutter at high RPM, which could hurt ring seal just enough--and more crankcase oil gets into the chamber, let's say 25,000 miles from now...you may or may not find you need more octane or less 'timing.